We use cookies to make this site as useful as possible. Read our cookie policy or ignore.

ICSA Company Secretary Awards 2013 short list announced

20 September 2013 by Alexandra Jones

ICSA has announced the shortlist for this year’s Company Secretary Awards, part of the ICSA Excellence in Governance Awards 2013.

ICSA’s Excellence in Governance Awards celebrate the highest standards in governance, rewarding both organisations and individuals for outstanding achievements in the field.


The Company Secretary Awards are a way of recognising a colleague or a team’s achievements in this highly technical and competitive sector, where a huge variety of tasks are undertaken by a wide range of organisations.


The awards, which are prestigious on both a professional and a personal level, culminate in a gala dinner in central London which plays host to over 600 top governance professionals, and is widely recognised as the industry event of the year.  

Individuals and teams demonstrating the highest standards in the company secretarial role have been shortlisted in the following categories:

Company secretary of the year (listed companies)
Donald McPherson, Alliance Trust; Mary Hitchon, Petrofac; Ruth Pavey, Capital and Countries; Tim Hartin, Westpac Banking Corporation

Company secretary of the year (unlisted companies)

 Jeremy Small, AXA; Marcos Castro, London Metal Exchange; Paul Forster, Bank of America Merrill Lynch


Company secretary of the year (not-for-profit)
Gill Brown, Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust; Joanna Farquharson, Tennis Foundation; Kevin Rowan, Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust

Company secretarial team of the year (listed companies)
Alliance Trust; Alliance Trust, Dundee; Barclays; Direct Line/PwC; Petrofac; Standard Life; Westpac Banking Corporation

Company secretarial team of the year (unlisted companies)
London Metal Exchange; LV; Towry  

Deputy company secretary of the year
Ann French, GE Capital UK; Lisa Daniels, Man Group; Robin Jack-Kee, Allianz Insurance

The one to watch
Ceri Charles, Equiniti David Venus; Jonathan Miles, Equiniti David Venus; Julia Herd, Capita; Ruth Pavey, Capital and Countries

There will be an additional award for outstanding achievement announced at the awards ceremony. There is no shortlist for the Outstanding Achievement Award.


Simon Osborne FCIS, ICSA’s Chief Executive said: ‘We have seen a very high calibre of entries this year across all sectors, both in terms of individual company secretaries and in the team categories. All those who have been shortlisted should be congratulated on their nominations. We wish everybody luck on the night.’

The awards will be presented at The Brewery in London on Wednesday, 13 November, at an event hosted by Financial Times journalist Lucy Kellaway. To book a table call Jarvis Fisher on 020 7612 7032 or email events@icsaglobal.com

Have your say

comments powered by Disqus