We use cookies to make this site as useful as possible. Read our cookie policy or ignore.

December news update

17 December 2018

Winter CPD event on Emerging Technologies

The final CPD event of the year was hosted by PwC on December 4th.  Darren O’Neill, Partner in PwC presented a fascinating insight to new technologies and the impact that they will have on our working lives in the near to medium term.  He was ably joined for a Q&A panel session by Caitiona Somers (experienced non-executive director) and Joe O’Sullivan (Client Technology Director, A&L Goodbody).

A copy of the event slides are available here.

2019 calendar of events

The calendar of events for the first half of 2019 will be sent to all members in very early January. The first CPD event will be hosted by Deloitte on 22nd January in their offices on 22nd January on the Senior Executive Accountability regime.  Keep an eye on the website for details of all events for 2019.

Law Society prize night

The 5th Certificate in Company Law and Secretarial Practice began in early October with over 60 students enrolling to sit the exam in January 2019.  This programme is run jointly by the ICSA with the Law Society in Ireland.  Candidates are eligible to apply for Affiliate membership on successful completion which will allow them to use the post nominals CIS (affiliate) after their name. 

The President of the Institute in Ireland Salvador Nash, spoke at the prize night held recently by the Law Society where presentations were made to Ruthanne Monaghan and Tríona Ní Fhinneadha.  Ruthanne who submitted the best paper in the 2018 examination was awarded the Jon Rock prize.  This prize is named in honour of our esteemed late former President, Jon Rock and was presented to Ruthanne by Mrs Eilish Rock and her daughter Jennifer.


Salvador Nash below, presented the prize for the second best paper in the examination to Tríona.


UKRIAT elections

Congratulations to immediate past president of the Irish Region, Ruairi Cosgrove who has been elected by members to serve on the prestigious UKRIAT committee for a three year period beginning on 1 January 2019.