President’s medal

The President’s Medal was established in 2002 as a means of rewarding distinguished or meritorious service in connection with the UKRIAT Division of the global Institute. The award lies in the gift of the UKRIAT President on the basis that, during his or her term in office, the President has exposure to many areas of the UKRIAT Division’s activities and the opportunity to meet potential candidates. Struck in sterling silver and gilt, the President’s Medal has been awarded to 17 members within UKRIAT since it was first awarded in 2003 to acknowledge their significant contribution to the profession and the Institute.

The UKRIAT President’s Medal is distinct from the International President’s Medal, which was established in 2016 and first awarded in 2018 to Ben Mathews and the late Richard Sermon. This medal is awarded for distinguished or meritorious service rendered to the global Institute by members, staff and members of the public.

2018 recipient

Dr Patrick Bitature FCIS

Dr Bitature has been a supporter of the Institute for many years. He is the founder and Executive Chairman of the Simba Group of Companies which is headquartered in Kampala. The Simba Group is involved in telecoms, real estate, tourism, hotels, mining and foreign exchange. Dr Bitature is chairman of the Private Sector Foundation Uganda, an umbrella body for 175 private enterprises, and of Umeme Limited, the largest electricity distributor in Uganda. Additionally he holds a number of other appointments including as the Honorary Consul for Australia in Uganda.

Each company in the Simba Group has a sound management structure and financial independence; and each management is overseen by properly functioning board. All companies in the Simba Group adhere to the group’s core principles of integrity, innovation and adaptability.

Dr Bitature’s support for ICSA in Uganda has been considerable. He has generously facilitated the provision of accommodation for each year’s Directors and Secretaries Conference in Kampala which ICSA Uganda holds in collaboration with the Capital Markets Authority of Uganda. Most recently he has agreed to be the patron of a new mentoring scheme which has been launched by ICSA Uganda. He is readily available to advise the chief executive of the UKRIAT Division and the honorary officers of the ICSA Uganda branch.

UKRIAT President’s Medal
YearPrevious recipients
2017 Penny Thomas
Ian Burger
2016 John Thompson
2015 David Kyle
Karen Jolly
2014 Gavin Downs
David Fisher
2013 Alison Dillon Kibirige
2012 Tom Morrison
Soodesh Jowaheer
2011 Not Awarded
2010 Not Awarded
2009 Not Awarded
2008 Alan Theakston
Derek Woodward
2007 David Hawley
2006 Keith Walmsley
2005 Jack Wratten
2004 Jeffrey Greenwell
Sylvia Moys
2003 Joan Bingley
Julia Bradley

UKRIAT President’s Medal 2018

2018 UKRIAT President’s Medal

Presented to Dr Patrick Bitature FCIS

Find out more about Dr Patrick Bitature FCIS:

Search ICSA